Garage or Repair Shop Recommendations in LA area

Search this Thread

Old 07-30-2010, 01:09 PM
4x4EX
Freshman User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Garage or Repair Shop Recommendations in LA area

Hi All,

This is my first time posting and I have a question; does anyone have a good mechanic they can recommend or a garage that does quality work on Ford Trucks? I have a 2000 Expy 4x4 that has been running great so far (190K miles) and I never really had a need for a mechanic for stuff other than routine maint.

A few days ago it started to develop a problem where I would not start without being jumped. It simply won't turn over and I hear a bunch of clicking sounds like in the dash and the speedometer and RPM guages go back and forth. The electrics are still on and everything. Took the battery to Pepboys and they said it was fine.

Any recommendations on a shop would be great, I live in Redondo Beach so places in the SouthBay or even west LA would be cool!

Thanks!

Ty

Here is a pic of my baby

Old 07-30-2010, 02:51 PM
orng1
Postmaster
IDK that probably may be a real easy fix, the terminals tend to go bad with corrosion. Double check everything and tighten the terminals. You would be upset if you have to tow your truck to a repair shop or even drive it over and have them charge you $100 just to clean your terminals or another simple fix.

Old 07-30-2010, 04:14 PM
SpringerPop
Hotshot

Received 188 Likes on 112 Posts
^^^ That's a real good recommendation by Bob. ^^^

Ty,

Clean them up at all four ends (both ends of both cables).

Of course, the fellas at Pep Boys likely don't know their backsides from holes in the ground, so you might just have a bad battery anyway.

And lastly, with your mileage on the clock, it's about time for the alternator brushes to be worn to their life-limits, thus not keeping the battery charged.

Report back after checking these simple things.

Pop

Old 08-02-2010, 05:11 PM
4x4EX
Freshman User