Notices
1987 - 1996 F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks 1987 - 1996 Ford F-150, F-250, F-350 and larger pickups - including the 1997 heavy-duty F250/F350+ trucks
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Engine needs a valve job what should I do?

Search this Thread

Old 07-17-2010, 01:30 PM
arlen
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Engine needs a valve job what should I do?

Hello I am still a newbie and not that automotive inclined. I have some mechanical skills. My 1995 F250 with 460 was looked at by a mechanic he says it needs a valve job. The truck has 126,000 miles. Two cylinder's have low pressure. Actually number two had zero pressure. The mechanic said he would do the valve job including labor and replace some more parts such as water pump and freeze plugs for $1200. I can get a used engine with 68000 miles for $800 dollars and 800 labor to install. What would you suggest?

Should I try and tear down the engine myself and have the valves done?

Should I pay a mechanic to do the valve job?

Should I have the engine replaced by a mechanic?

Should I get a used engine and try to replace it myself?

If I work on the engine and tear it down would a mechanic be willing to help me put it together?

I am just throwing out questions hoping for some advice guidance. I don't have a lot of money to work on the truck.

Thanks David

Old 07-17-2010, 01:46 PM
Filmy
Junior User
Pay for the valve job - at least get a few other estimates. That sounds a bit high, even with the water pump.

You'll have essentially rebuilt heads on a bullet-proof engine. Miles aren't that bad. With a used engine - even a known "good" one, you never know what might happen tomorrow. You already know your block is good - don't mess with it.

The 460 isn't too difficult to work on. If you're capable with tools, you can pull the heads yourself, have them "done" and reinstall. You'll save a ton of labor $.

Old 07-17-2010, 02:14 PM
lew52
Postmaster
Received 1 Like on 1 Post