Train Horns. LOUD horns.

Search this Thread

Old 05-19-2010, 11:28 AM
4570forever
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Train Horns. LOUD horns.

2004 F250, FX4.
Looking for affordable, approx. $400.00 or less, LOUD train sound horns .
I was set to go Seige but can't open their site any more. Looking at the Maximus III on Train Horn kits. com BUT wonder if it is the best for the $$$.
I am a volunteer firefighter and sometime even 2 electronic sirens don't penetrate other vehicles. I want something that will get thru (hopefully without breaking the windows, but if necessary so be it). A siren simply says "theres an emergency vehicle behind me and wants me to move", wheras a large loud horn says "there is something big and ugly behind me and will run over me if I don't move"!
I don't intend to use them for "scare toys", but as a tool for traffic avoidance.
I am wide open to suggestions, cussin's, discussin's.
Thanks
HL

Old 05-19-2010, 06:02 PM
ReAX
Post Fiend
If you're allowed to put a siren on, why not use the Siren boxes with the air horns? With the right speaker you'll hit dBs near really expensive air powered air horns.

Old 05-20-2010, 06:46 AM
4570forever
New User
I do, but it just doesn't seem to have the same effect.
HL

Old 05-20-2010, 09:26 PM
fatboyf150
Senior User
Originally Posted by 4570forever
I do, but it just doesn't seem to have the same effect.
HL
i agree. when running code 3 in the engine, most cars still dont hear us until i hit the Q or blast their eardrums out with the air horns. i have 2 100w speakers on my pov and still have a hard time moving people. id love to have a set of train horns added to each engine and tanker we have that blew with the emergency horns.

Old 05-21-2010, 07:36 AM
4570forever
New User
We have Grovers and Q's on our primary engines, they will generally move traffic.