E250 Blower Fan Does Not Work

Search this Thread

Old 09-19-2009, 08:41 AM
TheRed
Freshman User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
E250 Blower Fan Does Not Work

Here's what I have and what I've tried:

I'm not a mechanic, but I have time and no money, so I'd like to fix this myself if I can.

2000 E250.
4.2 Litre

The blower motor stopped working over the course of weeks. It began by not turning on immediately on starting the vehicle, but would come on after a few moments. As time passed (three weeks) the fan would take longer and longer to fire up after starting the vehicle. Once the fan came on on any particular trip it would stay on (and I could turn it on an off successfully) for that trip. For the past two weeks it has not worked at all.

So far I have:

Checked the 50 A blower motor fuse - which looked perfect - and cleaned it.
Replaced the 50 A blower motor relay.
Checked for power at the relay - I do have power there in the 50A side, and do have power to the coil side as well. The coil side power does switch on and off with the HVAC control switch on the dash.

I have no power coming to the fan motor speed control switch on the dash. As I've said the HVAC control switch is sending power to the coil side of the relay, and seems to be correctly controlling the dampers and the AC compressor.

I tried to remove the Fuse and Relay block under the hood to get to the back side and look for loose connections but didn't succeed in getting it out.

Please give me your advice and what to try next.

Thanks!

TheRed

Old 09-19-2009, 09:02 AM
subford
Fleet Owner
Received 228 Likes on 177 Posts
If you have power to the relay coil (86) and common (30) and no power out of the relay (87) with a new relay then you have a bad ground at ground G100.
G100 is located on the left front of engine compartment, at LH upper radiator support.

/

Old 09-19-2009, 09:34 AM
TheRed
Freshman User
I'll try it ASAP

subford,

Thanks! I'm on my way out to the driveway.

TheRed