What is the symptoms of a bad torque converter?

Search this Thread

Old 10-22-2001, 11:39 AM
unioncreek
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Can someone tell me what the symptoms of a torque converter it is failing?

Thanks,
bob

1972 F100 360/C6 100K miles

Old 10-23-2001, 12:15 PM
jim henderson
Postmaster
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

I am not an expert....

Could be all kinds of symptoms, many of which could also be caused by other things.

Some symptoms you could expect are: brown or black ATF fluid; slippage; foaming of the fluid; harsh and or mushy shifting. One symptom seems to be pretty much isolated to the TC. Torque Shudder is usually caused by the TC. It feels kind of like a subtle rumbling or shuddering of the truck while it is driving down a smooth road, sort of a bit like driving on rain grooves. Usually during very slight loading and acceleration. Hard acceleration or a heavy load may mask the symptom.

Tell us more what you are feeling and why you suspect the TC?

Jim Henderson
spent plenty on trannies to learn some harsh lessons.

Old 10-23-2001, 12:43 PM
unioncreek
Senior User

The truck will also shudder while in drive, until after it has been driven a while. It started to do this just out of the blue one day The fluid was dark so I changed it, helped a little. The tranny is also slow at engaging when you first put it in gear. It shifts very well not real crisp like I would like it. I changed the modulator, but don't know how to adjust it to change the shift.

Old 10-24-2001, 10:50 AM
jim henderson
Postmaster

Hmmm sounds like maybe the fluid hasnt been changed in a long time if ever? a 72 truck with 100K on it, could be after all these years the fluid broke down.

Whether it was old fluid or not, being dark is not good. Usually means something overheating. Could be clutches(Also can cause slow engagement) or the TC slipping, also might be cooked seals.