General NON-Automotive Conversation No Political, Sexual or Religious topics please.

got fired for refusing overtime

Search this Thread

Old 02-12-2009, 05:32 PM
35l911
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
got fired for refusing overtime

hey whats up? I was a delivery driver for dominos pizza and jan 18 2009 i refused to work overtime so i was fired on the spot filed for wrongful termination and was told by a lawer as well by unemployment office in MD that the actions by me were gross misconduct and an indifferince to my employer and was denied for unemployment and the lawsuit was not even filed. Now i had 1 interveiw where they call my former employer and they told them why i was fired and i never got a call back from that interveiw when i call they said the position was filled.

now my question what are my options now? i have sevral applaications floating around

Old 02-12-2009, 05:34 PM
Texas Outlaw
Not a liberal...
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Keep trying. Eventually you will get a job. Lots of people have been fired and they find jobs again. Also, appeal the unemployment. Most people get it on the second go around. I know, I hire and fire people all the time.

Old 02-12-2009, 05:45 PM
Buck 1
Posting Guru

File an appeal for the unemployment, and they will schedule a hearing where you can give your side of the story. Questions they will ask: Why did you refuse? Circumstances? How many hours did you work that day prior to refusing to work OT? Have you worked OT in the past when asked? Let us know how you make out.

Old 02-12-2009, 05:49 PM
Texas Outlaw
Not a liberal...
One more thing, is Maryland a "Right To Work" state?

If so, they do not have to have a reason for firing you. They can just decide to let you go. Texas is that way. Fired employees have very little recourse.

Old 02-12-2009, 06:00 PM
35l911
Senior User