Modular V10 (6.8l)  

broken V10 exhaust studs

Search this Thread

Old 02-05-2008, 12:36 PM
andy b.
8th Gear
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Question broken V10 exhaust studs

greetings, new member here. there is a TON of good info on this site. the bad thing is, most of it will end up costing me money.

i took my 2002 F350 V10 in for inspection today and the garage told me a bunch of the exhaust manifold studs are broken off at the head. being cheap (and not having $1000 laying around) i want to attempt this repair myself. i've rebuilt cars, motorcycles, farm tractors, etc. so i'm not a novice mechanic, but i have never worked on a V10. how big of a pain in the butt is it to get at these studs? i'm guessing i will need to drill some of them out. are there any other tips anyone has to offer me? should i replace all of them while i'm in there? any guidance, tips or photos are appreciated.

thanks,

andy b.

Old 02-05-2008, 02:47 PM
dkf
Hotshot
Received 17 Likes on 17 Posts
Heres a link to a thread with some pics and info.

https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/5...ghlight=header

You will have to remove the front inner fender liner to get to the studs for the best acces. When I got my headers on the mechanic didn't remove the fender liners though, which amazed me I don't know how he could get in there. He was a thin little guy though.

If the studs are broken off flush with the head or below the head surface obviously removing them will be harder. An easy out or drilling the studs out completly may be what you need to do to get them out. The studs can be hard to drill or will work harden (SS studs) when your drilling them out, use cutting oil or a water soluable cutting fluid to prevent work hardening. If the stud sticks up above the head you may be able to work it out with a vise grip. The studs usually don't turn out hard.

Old 02-05-2008, 08:35 PM
rich250
Senior User