Escape & Escape Hybrid Ford Escape, Ford Escape Hybrid, Mercury Mariner, Mazda Tribute

02 Escape leaking oil

Search this Thread

Old 11-27-2007, 11:48 AM
S-CAPE
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
02 Escape leaking oil

I have a 02 escape leaking oil. not much just about a drop a day. I can see that it is either coming from the front main seal, and or the oil pan gasket.
My question is this, are one, or both of these prone to leaking, and how hard is it to replace it? I am a certified mechanic, but this is my daily driver and I need to know if this is a few hour job, or much more indepth that I think it is. I have the proper puller , and all the tools I need. I just need to know if it is a quick job, and which parts are prone to leaking. by the way I have a 2002 Escape xlt 2wd with a 3.o and 97000 miles. any help in this matter would be greatly apreciated.

Old 11-27-2007, 12:57 PM
S-CAPE
New User
After looking at it more it apears to have a two peice pan. One peice is the actual sump, and the other is a two inch spacer, am I correct in assuming this? also do you have to remove any of the exhaust to remove the pan(s) any help would be apreciated.

Old 11-27-2007, 07:17 PM
tcesni
Elder User
I'm not trying to be a smart aleck, but if you are a certified mechanic don't you have access to a Chilton's that would tell you how long this repair is supposed to take?

Old 11-28-2007, 08:18 AM
S-CAPE
New User
i AM A SERVICE MANAGER IN A POWERSPORTS DEALERSHIP. ALTHOUGH i AM TRAINED AND CERTIFIED IN AUTOMOTIVE, WHERE i LIVE THERE IS MORE MONEY IN POWERSPORTS. I have manuals for honda yamaha and sea doo, but no not a ford. I supose that I could go to the library, however being that this it a info sharing web site I thought this to be my first corse of action

Old 11-28-2007, 09:09 AM
tcesni
Elder User