5'' DA Sander, How big on an air compressor?

Search this Thread

Old 05-15-2007, 11:06 PM
v8xploder
Elder User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
5'' DA Sander, How big on an air compressor?

How big of an air compressor would I need to run one of these for a while? Im just getting into light body work of my own and wont be using this constantly...

Old 05-16-2007, 07:03 AM
cujo8
Posting Guru
It depends on what your usage will be of this compressor. Every tool has a recommended CFM spec and if you only plan to use the compressor occasionally then you can get away with buying a compressor that just meets the tools CFM requirements. You also need to consider what other air tools you may be using before you decide on what the CFM requirements are for your application. For axample, if you are going to be using a DA sander, you will probably be using a paint gun and each has it's own CFM requirements. It won't hurt you to take a break sanding to let your compressor catch up, but you may run into problems if you need to take a break while you are painting your truck due to the "flash" time requirements between coats. Compressors are not designed to run continuously and if you buy one that is undersized (CFM Rating, not HP) it will die an early death due to excessive heat if you over tax it continuously. Also a "hot" running compressor will generate a lot of unwanted water which is not good for anything.