SD engines transplant for older ford?

Search this Thread

Old 03-07-2007, 12:21 AM
mstockton
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
SD engines transplant for older ford?

Hi All, I've flipped through this site a few times for info on my 1959 Ford F-500 and never noticed this particular forum. I think its time I tear down and restore my old truck, it was a cattle truck on my grandfather's ranch with a 12x8 flatbed with a custom built rack on it. It has the small MD 292 engine with a T-98A transmission, and an eaton two speed rear end. The drivetrain has passed 120,000 miles on the the orginal cluth and transmission, engine was rebuilt 30,000 ago.To make the truck more interesting and more powerful, I was thinking of using period-correct parts, even if ford never installed them. I like this idea over going a modern driveline route. I'm a CAT diesel technician starting out, so I can handle working on big engines and transmissions (in my schooling we rebuilt 3406B truck engines). To try and shorten this long post up, I'm wondering on the possibilty of swapping a SD engine in my truck with the clark OD HD transmission that my shop manual lists, or the fuller R-46 8 speed. Will the clark bolt up to these bellhousings, or do you need the heavier 8 speed? Money is not so much an issue, as I have an indefinite period of time to do the total body off restoration on the truck, and i'm willing to spend over twice the cost of rebuilding a 460 here, since I've got the time, is this swap feasible? The narrow frame rails on my truck worry me, not sure how much wider the 700's and up were.

Old 03-07-2007, 12:37 AM
mstockton
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Smile