More Power

Old 08-18-2006, 04:19 PM
mmorto
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
More Power

Hey There. I am new to the 4 cylinders and am trying to figure out just what I can do to mine. 99 in a Ranger w/auto trans. I have a decided lack of power with mine plus mileage is terrible. Can I get a cold air intake and change timing events? Is there a better way to go? I would prefer to work with the 2.5 instead of putting in a 5.0 like everyone around here suggests. Thanks for any help you can give me.
Mike

Old 08-19-2006, 12:55 AM
wendell borror
Post Fiend
With the auto, there isn't much gonna help unless it's forced induction, One major restriction on the lima, is the head, it doesn't flow well. A port, and polish, cam, and header would help, there are also aftermarket heads available.With an auto tranny, a turbo would be your best bet for any real noticable difference. If you had a manual, I'ld go with some bolt on's, and head work. Maybe others will have some idea's.

Old 08-19-2006, 06:08 PM
TLyttle
Junior User
Sure makes you wonder what the engineers were on when they designed that head, doesn't it? Would they purposely design it to get such poor performance, including mileage?

I am going to spend the winter redoing a head for mine, the usual port/polish etc, plus open up the exhaust (that livened up my 200"6); we will see if my pension will allow a Racer Walsh header or not! Gonna look for a heavier cam in there as well.

Old 08-20-2006, 10:28 AM
AlfredB1979
Posting Guru
Well, the Lima head was designed in the late 60s or 70s, so emissions was something they were shooting for back then. Of course, techonology is better and we see better ways to accomplish that goal now...

Until Jag-u-ar designed the Tritons/Intech OHC engines, pretty much all Ford heads flowed like garbage as it is...I can see the cheaping out coming from not updating things until the newer I4 was brought out by Mazda.

Old 08-20-2006, 08:21 PM
TLyttle
Junior User