1994.5 - 1997 7.3L Power Stroke Diesel  

1997 F-250 Powerstroke Ford Diesel Problems.

Search this Thread

Old 05-30-2006, 06:06 PM
Hogfan22
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
1997 F-250 Powerstroke Ford Diesel Problems.

Ok My dad just bought a 1997 ford f-250 with powerstoke diesel and the problem is we got it started sunday night and drove it home but it would only go to 1800 Rpms and about 15mph.Also it has smoke coming out that is blue.And now that I got it to the shop at town it will not start at all. We spray starting fluid in it today and sunday it start sunday with fluid but today it just cranks but it will not start.We also changed the fuel filter and still nothing we would like some ideas of what u think it might be thanks for the help.

Old 05-30-2006, 07:22 PM
jboard
Elder User
Im no pro but it kind of sounds like your EBPV was on. Im sure someone else will explain it better than i can.
jeremy

Old 05-30-2006, 08:22 PM
plowhand
Playing in the Dirt
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Starting fluid is a BIG NO-NO with PSD's. Our trucks have an automatic glow plug system, and if the system is working and you shoot starting fluid in, as soon as you turn the key on the glow plugs energize and youcould get detonation ruining your engine. Unless you disconnect the glow plug relay, or turn the key on and wait at least 2 minutes before using starting fluid you are at risk.