Explorer, Sport Trac, Mountaineer & Aviator 1991-1994, 1995-2001, 2002-2005, 2006-2010 Ford Explorer

94 Explorer Freeze Plugs

Search this Thread

Old 09-17-2005, 04:35 PM
mcanderson
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
94 Explorer Freeze Plugs

Just acquired 94 Explorer, V6 4.0L I think, that has built up too much pressure in the cooling system and blew out the freeze plugs, also has small engine knock. I am a tax accountant, and client who owns repair shop had vehicle come in for repair, he replace freeze plugs and they blew out again, said customer could not afford repairs, so I bought from customer. Mechanic says best thing to do is get another engine from a junk yard. Mechanic is a foriegn car specilist and does not like messing with US cars. I am just wondering if current engine is not salvagable, cheaper than replacing with junk yard engine that you still are not sure what you are getting. Have had people tell me may be clogged radiator, or blown head gasket? I do not have a clue! Oil is low, but does not appear to have any water in the oil. Any diagnostic help would be appreciated.

Thanks / Mark

Old 09-18-2005, 01:06 AM
Jharger
Posting Guru
Yeah I usually bring my Explorer to the Honda dealer for repairs, sometime BMW if I'm feeling rich - NOT!

We first need to know what's going on. It makes no sense that pressure will blow out a freeze plug that is properly installed. You'd blow a hose wide open before the freeze plug. You have a radiator cap that is set to blow off at 15 or 17 PSI. This is the first point of pressure release. Put a new one on for the hell of it but that's not your problem.

If you have a blown headgasket, the car would run bad and you'd have other symptoms like bubbles in the radiator - a lot, coolant in the oil, steam out the exhaust pipe, a loss of coolant... Got any of this?