Your Filter Setups

Search this Thread

Old 06-22-2005, 10:35 PM
edub32
Posting Guru
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Your Filter Setups

Hi guys, I'm new to the alternative fuel forums so I'm definitely a "noob". I'm really wanting to convert my truck to run on WVO because of the ridiculous prices of dino-diesel. I've been doing a lot of reading and I know that you need to filter the WVO. I was wondering what kind of filter setups you guys have. For ex. like a 55 gallon drum to a ..., to a...., etc. Thanks for the help..!

Old 06-25-2005, 11:55 PM
tdister
Posting Guru
I've been using the bag filters from Greasecar.com (the guy I bought it from had quite a few-so I haven't had to look into anything else yet). They are 5 micron and 1 micron. I also have it run through a GE water filter (as-in: household water filter) built-into my 12v pump (mounted on work bench, but hooks to car for power) that I use to put it in my cars tank. He also gave me another 12v pump to gather the oil with , it just has a screen to keep out the big stuff.

My operation: Pump into the 5 & 10 gallon pails/jugs(easier to handle) from the main storage at restaurant. When I get home I have an assortment of the same jugs I use to transfer-filter with (using the bags). I then have 2 55 gal. drums I pour the bag-filtered oil into for storage. It then goes thru the pump w/ the water filter on it before going into the cars aux. tank. Don't know if I'm doing everything exactly as it was meant to be, but it seems right and works.

I have the jugs marked 1, 2, & 3 to designate the filtering stage respectively so I don't contaminate. I also have a couple clean ones to use for in-car storage of completely filtered oil if I want to go on a road trip in it.

Anything else, just ask.

Old 06-26-2005, 03:12 PM
MasterTrim
Junior User
Originally Posted by edub32