Manual Transmission Rebuild - How difficult?

Search this Thread

Old 04-26-2005, 10:46 PM
Matt Wilson
Junior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Manual Transmission Rebuild - How difficult?

The 5-speed manual tranny in my 1990 F-150 works ok, but doesn't shift into gears as easily as it once did. I guess the synchonizers are wearing out. It also makes a "whirring" or light "howling" noise that's noticeable when the truck is not moving and I let out the clutch with the tranny in neutral. I'm sure it's just some worn input shaft bearings. It doesn't do anything else more severe than that (such as popping out of gear or grinding gears, etc).

How difficult would it be to rebuild it myself? I am a fairly skilled mechanic, capable of rebuilding and installing engines, but I don't have a feel for how difficult it is to rebuild a manual tranny. My garage is equipped with calipers, micrometers, dial indicators, feeler gages etc., but I don't know how delicate an operation it is, what I should expect to find wrong with it, etc.

Also, what range of costs should I expect to incur? How about the cost if I just hire it done?

Thanks,

Matt

Old 04-27-2005, 09:56 AM
fefarms
Elder User
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
If the shifts feel stiff, but there is no "crunch" as it goes into gear, the synchros are probably OK. Check to ensure that the clutch is not low on fluid and is fully disengaging. If the trans fluid has a lot of miles on it, consider a fluid change to Mercon V. The M5OD in my Explorer shifts a lot nicer with Mercon V than with the 80000 mile fluid that was in it.

If you are determined to go ahead with the rebuild, you can probably do it. You will need a clean, organized place to work. You absolutely must have the documentation on how to do it. An exploded view of the trans, as from some parts manuals, is also handy, as sometimes the overhaul manual isn't so clear on the positioning of shims, thrust washers, etc.