2.0/2.3L parts

Search this Thread

Old 03-07-2005, 09:59 AM
Freighttrain
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2.0/2.3L parts

I am building a Pony stock dirt track car and want to use the 2.0 since I can turn the little sucker 10,000RPM and keep it together.I need to know what stock 2 barrel intakes have larger ports?Truck,car,2.0,2.3.All the rules state is a stock 2 barrel intake manifold.Doesn't say it has to be stock to the engine.Just had to come on a ford 4 banger.I could hog it out but I would have to take a 50lb penalty(thats alot on a 2000lb car).Also,who makes the best cam for the RPM range I am looking at?This is my first time into round track.I have belonged to a team since last year working on a bomber car(Camero,Yuck,bow tie) but figured I would get myself something small and cheap to learn the ropes in.I am totally lost when it comes to gassers especially 4 bangers.Give me a diesel and I am fine!

Basic rules
Stock type intake
any flat top pistons
.500 max lift cam with .025 lash at valves
500CFM 2 barrel
any Non aftermarket head(SOHC only)
any steel valves of stock diameter
any competition valve jobs as long as grinds are concentric with guide
.750 hand blend is ok.

Old 03-07-2005, 06:21 PM
bobracing
Junior User
1. the 2.0 and the 2.3 are not the same engine. BUT the 2.3 and the 2.5 are (more or less) the same. Also don't be confused by the 2 different 2.0s (do a search in this forum for more info).

2. There is no reason to run a 2.0 unless there is a cc limit or solid's can't be run on a 2.3. Don't know with your rules.

3. All the parts you want can be found at:
a. Esslinger
b. Race Engineering
c. Racer Walsh
note: don't have enough post to put links in yet.

4. We had good luck with Schneider Cams.
Make sure that you give them all the info you can about your engine (long rod or short, compression ect.)