General Automotive Discussion

What does it take to register a homemade car?

Search this Thread

Old 01-30-2005, 01:07 PM
ElvishWarrior21
Junior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
What does it take to register a homemade car?

I live in PA, and was wondering what it would take to make a street legal car of my own design (I'm a soon to graduate mechanical engineer.)

I've been playing with a design for a tanden 2-seater car that would basically trade size for structural strength over a sub-compact car. My idea had a rear mounted engine and rear wheel drive, and possibly a CVT. I was thinking of basically cannibalizing the powertrain from a junked sub-compact car, like a 3 cylinder Geo Metro. I'd design and build a frame-in-body chassis and probably do a suspension that was a hybrid between the donor car and an original design.

Anyone know how I'd go about establishing such a thing as street legal?

Old 01-30-2005, 01:47 PM
trike1946
Logistics Pro

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Contact the state DMV. I tried to get a title for a motorcycle that a friend of mine built. It was not easy. You had to have titles and receipts for every piece of the bike. Then someone had to review everything and inspect it. It was easier to get a title to an old bike and put the numbers on it. I don't know how PA is. There is a place in Maine that will give you a registration if you have a title no matter what state you live in. They have inspections, but out of state cops have nothing to do with it. So you are safe as long as you don't go to Maine. Find out the requirements before you start so you don't have to play catch up. Also contact your insurance agent. Sometimes they are a problem too. Good luck.

Old 01-30-2005, 02:18 PM
Jerry Gougeon
Elder User
Street Legal :

Elvish: You would have to check with the local authorities as to the requirments for building your own street legal vehicle as all states and provinces here have different regulations .