1997 - 2003 F150 1997-2003 F150, 1997-1999 F250LD, 7700 & 2004 F150 Heritage

Confused about problem found at garage

Search this Thread

Old 07-03-2014, 07:06 PM
flashback max
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Confused about problem found at garage

I'm not a mechanic by any stretch of the imagination. I like doing stuff I understand. But things seem odd to me and was wondering if somebody might help.

I just got my 97 f 150 V6 back from having some tires put on and she came with a list of stuff that needs fixing. It does pull to the right and needs to be aligned. They also say the following needs to be fixed. These are quotes off the sheet I got:

"RF Wheel bearing needs adjustment/replace"- don't hear anything but ok.

"Left Front Stabilizer link is broken"- Ok, can't find the part on Napa....

"LF rotor needs replacing"- yes it does.

(this is what I don't get )
"Pitman arm is very loose and could fall out any time(not safe)"- I have the haynes online manual for it and I've looked at it everywhere it's brought up. How does it fall out? If it's loose, just tighten it back up? Confused.

"Both upper ball joints are worn and loose. Recommend replacing upper control arms and camber bolts to align"- Probably true, it rides not rough, but almost like you have a cupped tire. Don't know if that might be the problem.

Any help guys? I know you can't see the truck, but any knowledge would help.

Old 07-03-2014, 07:29 PM
flashback max
New User
I did crawl under there. The pitman arm is pretty rusty. The castle nut doesn't look great. Maybe that's what they meant?

Old 07-03-2014, 07:33 PM
Marty N Debbie Sapp
New User
You didn't say if you have 2wd or 4wd. If the pitman arm has a ball socket it could come out and you wouldn't have eny steering.

Old 07-03-2014, 07:33 PM
Alan Kocinski
New User
"RF Wheel bearing needs adjustment/replace"- don't hear anything but ok. id slap some grease on it