Search this Thread

Old 09-02-2013, 09:26 AM
tojoski
Posting Guru
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
September chat / off-topic thread

Originally Posted by sconap1
Hi everyone -

I'm working on the signature stuff, a little behind...but I'm a US Arny vet, a lifetime NRA member and love hunting and fishing. DU, TU, BASS, etc..

I've done some pistol shooting for competition but mostly I quit after ammo became so hard to find and I was dwindling my stockpile too much!

anyway - sorta Ford related and for the off topic thread - I traded my way into a brand-new-in-the-box Ruger LCP .380 very recently. And being the Friday before the long weekend....I got out early from work and headed to the range. (Old Ford Gun Club)

It's been hot and dry...and I had a laugh when I was about a mile down the river bottom road and looked in my rear view mirror
- coulld BARELY tell there WAS a road there!

My truck pulled up to one of the shooting bays:

I'm normally a Glock guy - I have a few different ones and my son and I like to shoot them in the different competitions...well, until as I said...ammo got rediculous. After work and weekends I'm all Glock (concealed carry permit)...but I needed a smaller option with a new job...so I did that trade for the LCP

LCP stands for Lighweight Carry Pistol and it's really tiny. something like 7 ounces unloaded or something...it's really small too - I put a Crimson Trace Laser on it...and try to keep it from twisting around too much on my hand...and it didn't do too bad - here's one grouping:

not slow fire...but not rapid - I'd call it controlled fire at 5 yards...not bad given it was the first time I'd shot the ity-bity thing. those are 1" squares so basically within a 3" spread from one to another...inside 4" for sure and that's fine for this gun.
The best news - the little guy performed without any hickup whatsoever in a full 50 round box of FMJ and another with Hornady critical defense carry ammo. Good to go for my work-hour needs anyway.