Im ready to take the plunge

Search this Thread

Old 03-23-2013, 07:32 PM
whalebus2112
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Im ready to take the plunge

Hey guys. Im new to this section but not the idi one. I am a average working guy who has an exspensive hobby of riding my rzr in the mountain. We try to take a trip from Sc to Tenn about every 2 months but the $300-$350 fuel bill is killing me so I figure if I can invest some time an money to save money in the long run then lets do it.

I have a 87 super cab with a 093 turbo with a flat bed an it does everything I need to do. I also have a company truck so my idi only gets maybe 100 miles a month if I dont head to the hills.

I have done research til my eys have bled an I have decided to do a 2 tank system on wvo. My father in law is building me a 100 gallon tank for my flat bed an I need some quick info.

I plan on running a piece of pipe threw the tank so I can use my coolant to help get the oil moving. What size nipple will I need to connect to the heater hoses so I can make a heat exchanger? 5/8? I plan on running the tube right over the outlet on the tank so it just warms that area. Also what size nipple will I need for the fuel line outlet to make it easier to connect with what ever heated hose everyone is using?

Sorry for all the questions but my wife is going to leave me if I spend any more time on the computer. I have spent like 3 hours a night for 2 weeks lol

I have the funds so now I need to get a parts list together so if any one has any recomendation then let me know. Oh yea , I want to do a seperate system for the wvo an start it on diesel and turn it off ont it. I Think I am going to use the 2 in 1 hose with the fuel line in it. I know I need some check valves an a way to T tap the wvo return back t0 the supply line . What is a good way to switch between the fuel sorces. Do you have to put a electric pick up pump on the diesel so you can kill it? Man it seems endless.

Old 03-23-2013, 11:35 PM