1994.5 - 1997 7.3L Power Stroke Diesel  

New Vac Pump Needed - New Water Pump and Tensioner, too?

Search this Thread

Old 01-31-2013, 12:40 PM
OldWoodsDiesel
Posting Guru
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
New Vac Pump Needed - New Water Pump and Tensioner, too?

so, a new sputtering noise started on the way to work today, accompanied by very stiff brakes. pretty clearly the vacuum system - probably the pump, but i was poking around a lunch and found that the vacuum line connection to the brake booster felt loose. its a right-angle plastic fitting and i could spin the plastic fitting in the brake booster body. is that normal? i'm thinking perhaps a new or greased up fitting could be my fix. anyone else ever have this problem?

while i was in there, i studied the vacuum pump with the engine running and it wasn't making any different noises and the pulley motion didnt look abnormal. i suppose it'd be the internal diaphram seals that fail, though, not something visible from the outside.

while looking at the vac pump, i did notice that my water pump pully seemed to be wobbling a bit. then, when i went and looked from the other side, i noticed the belt coming off the pulley was vibrating quite a bit and the tensioner was moving up and down consitently about 1/8-1/4". i assume this is not normal. does the wobbling water pump pulley mean i'm due for a new pump very soon? i'd guess so.

if so, i' think i'll just do all three (water pump, vac pump and tensioner) all at once. maybe the idler pulley as well?

any input from experience would be much appreciated.

Old 01-31-2013, 12:58 PM
mjunk1
Fleet Mechanic
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts