WVO gelled in fuel system

Old 01-05-2013, 05:41 PM
Brant Bowrifle
Tuned
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
WVO gelled in fuel system

I have no experience with alternative fuels, figured I'd run this past you guys who understand this stuff. I have a mercedes 300D I got for free (not running) and I will either put the engine in my bronco 2 or a scout, haven't decided yet. Problem is that it has been sitting for almost a year after being run on oil because the filter is full of it and I can see it gelled in the fuel lines. This vehicle never had any kind of a conversion heater system on it. I want to make sure it starts and runs fine before I bother with the swap but don't have a clue as to how to go about it. I assume that stuff needs cleaned out of the system or thinned down before it can be started, lol, 20 degrees outside and motor does not have a cooling system to utilize the block heater. Don't know if the block heater would even do the job... More importantly, I need to know if this scenario can cause damage to the injection pump, injectors, cause me to have to take in pump to be cleaned and so on. Though I got this car for free it doesn't mean I want to spend money on parts or labor, considering the cars go for fairly cheap around here. Hopefully you gents can educate me a little. Thanks for the help.

Old 01-05-2013, 05:51 PM
fabmandelux
Post Fiend
Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts