My 1989 F-250 Ex Ambulance

Search this Thread

Old 11-25-2012, 03:05 AM
tinybuck
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
My 1989 F-250 Ex Ambulance

Hi everyone
I'm new to the Chapter, so I thought I'd introduce myself before I badger you all for some help.
I'm Mike (40) and originally from the U.k. I'm new to trucks, New(ish) to Australia and pretty new to driving period.
I met an Australian girl while she was travelling around britain, we dated, got married and moved to Australia about 4 years ago.
While in Britain I never actually learned to drive, instead I got public transport everywhere. I soon learned that,
that was not going to get me very far in Oz, so I took my tests and finally got rid of my Ps in August.
A member of the family offered me his old vehicle. And I was totally amazed when it turned out to be a big ol Ford Pickup. How lucky am I? I was told it was a 1989 F-150 Ex Ambulance dual fuel with a 351 windsor under the hood, I have since found out that it's an F-250 with a 302 windsor.

And people tell me when they pop the hood is, boy does
it need some work. The truck was so unreliable, I wouldn't trust it to get me to town and back without coughing, spluttering, backfireing and dieing. But a trip to the mechanic and a replaced Throttle Position Sensor seems to have sorted that.
Having learned to drive so late in life, I find that I'm a 40 year ol man with a teenagers enthusiasm!!
unfortunately also a real beginners level of knowledge too. But I'd like to turn my truck into an ongoing hobby so my learning curve starts here.
Thanks for having me in the chapter, I look forward to chatting with and learning from you all, and please excuse me in advance if I ask any stupid questions.

Now for the cry for help.