2007 - 2014 Expedition & Navigator 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013 and 2014 Ford Expedition and Lincoln Navigator

Question on towing

Search this Thread

Old 03-08-2012, 05:45 PM
joeyo67
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question on towing

A neighbor told me that with when towing my 7000lbs TT that I should not only use the Tow/Haul mode, but I should also be driving in 3. I have been using D (Drive).

I tried looking up the info online, but could not find any specifics to address my question. I have a 2011 Expedition 4x4 Limited with 3.31 gear ratio. I'm also using a Hensley Arrow hitch.

Please let me know. Thanks, Joe

Old 03-08-2012, 08:07 PM
joeyo67
New User
I'd really appreciate some feedback, I'm really new to towing and only interested to know if this is a prefrence thing or if its better for the tranny towing in 3 vs D.

Thanks!

Old 03-08-2012, 08:46 PM
RV_Tech
Hotshot
Received 456 Likes on 310 Posts
Unless the transmission hunts, there is no reason to do anything other than drive normally.

Steve

Old 03-09-2012, 06:01 AM
chuck s
Elder User
When did the Tow-Haul mode get added to the Expedition? You have the HD tow option?

As noted, unless the transmission is hunting there's no reason to put the lever in anything but Drive. I suspect with a 7000 pound travel trailer and 3.31 axles you're not going to see 6th gear other than on downgrades and may not see 5th too much.

If you're curious you can put a scan gauge on the CAN buss and monitor things like transmission temperature. My 5000 pound camper with HD Tow and 3.73 axles rarely lets the transmission above 190°F and coolant temperature flatlines just under 200°F .

-- Chuck

Old 03-09-2012, 10:20 AM
joeyo67
New User
I have a 2011 6 speed with the HD tow package, air suspension and the 3.31 grear ratio. Also included is the HD tranny & oil cooler.