Notices
1987 - 1996 F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks 1987 - 1996 Ford F-150, F-250, F-350 and larger pickups - including the 1997 heavy-duty F250/F350+ trucks
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

1996 F250 HD: Turns over, but won't start, argh!

Search this Thread

Old 02-17-2012, 05:36 PM
Momba2
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
1996 F250 HD: Turns over, but won't start, argh!

This is a '97 HD F250. It has the 5.8L 351 Windsor. Anyway, it sounds like it wants to start, the engine cranks, but it sounds like it is not getting gas. I have changed the fuel filter, and we can hear the fuel pump engage.... What else should I check? I am a NOVICE, so please speak plainly! I appreciate any and all help. Mike.

Old 02-17-2012, 05:40 PM
DBGrif91
Cargo Master
Received 47 Likes on 37 Posts
Is it cranking over solid, or does it seem to be kind of sluggish and slow?

Have you checked for spark? When is the last time you checked/replaced your air filter? It may be useful to remove the air filter and then try to start it, just to see if it is an air flow problem.

The easiest way to check and see if it's getting fuel is to remove the cap on the shrader valve. I don't have a pic of it, but it will look like a tire stem on the fuel rail. Engage the ignition so the fuel pump primes [or at least SHOULD prime the rail] then remove the cap from the valve and use a small screwdriver to depress the valve stem. BE CAREFUL- if there is fuel present it will shoot out very fast.

But, if you have a fuel pressure tester, it's always best to use that instead.

You may also want to check the fuel pressure regulator. This is a small cylinder that will be located at one end or the other on the fuel rail as well. There will be a vacuum line hooked up to it. Remove the vacuum line and look for gas dripping out of it, or if you can smell gas when the line is removed, it's bad.

Old 02-20-2012, 10:10 AM
Momba2
New User