Rear shocks....

Search this Thread

Old 06-21-2011, 03:51 PM
nothercrash
Posting Guru
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Rear shocks....

How many do you have? I have only one!

The other one broke clean off the other day when I had a heavy load on......

79 150 4X4 with a 9" rear. I knew my upper shock mounts were worse than bad for a long time, they've been rusted through since I've had the truck. The driver's side one finally broke the other day, and now the shock, and half the upper mount, are resting on the E brake cable, parallel to the road.

I'm a welder, so putting it back together is as simple as convincing myself to crawl under there, eat rust for an hour, and stick something together.

I do however have a few questions about shocks in general:

How badly do I need rear shocks period? I've assumed these have been dead for a long time.....

Is it an issue that I only have ONE shock (as opposed to having none at all, as in, is it bad to be uneven)?

If I really should replace my rear shocks, what do I have to look for in new ones? Travel length? Travel speed? Weight tolerance?

Thanks for any info, AleX

Old 06-21-2011, 06:00 PM
finneys98xj
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Shock real help soften the ride of a vechical!

Old 06-21-2011, 07:51 PM
kelsey_kaye
Senior User
Having only one shock will put more of the load on one side vs the other. Yes, it is a problem. Depending on what exactly you want out of the suspension will determine what specifics you should be looking for out of the shocks.

Old 06-21-2011, 08:47 PM
HIO Silver
Post Fiend
Received 58 Likes on 48 Posts
Dang. Failure caused by rust? That's hardcore. I'd start looking at other parts of yer rig for at-risk parts lest you look at the rear view mirror only to see your parts chasing you!!! I read a bumper on an old Jaguar that said, "The parts falling off this vehicle are of the best British manufacture".