Sponsored by: Moser

Installing/Operating Manual Choke

Search this Thread

Old 05-16-2011, 07:54 PM
JoeHarbourJets
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Installing/Operating Manual Choke

I have installed a Manual choke on my Carter YF, on my 300, which is in a 75 F100. I've never used a manual choke on a vehicle before. I knew enough to install it so the plate is closed when the dash plunger is out, and to close the choke for cold starts, then open it as the engine warms. But my problem is this: if I accelerate, the vacuum pulls the choke plate so the engine starts stalling, etc. Am I missing something? What am I supposed to have done except hook the choke cable to the mechanism? Would the fast idle linkage rod, which is not on there now, solve this problem?

Old 05-16-2011, 08:07 PM
Sleepy445FE
Posting Guru
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Are you sure it's opening all the way? When you pull the choke you should have it adjusted so that it doesn't completely close. There should be a gap of about the size of a pencil or so. If it's closing completely then it's likely not opening all the way and can flop around easily with a little vacuum.

Old 05-16-2011, 08:56 PM
btravis90
Senior User
when i installed mine i had all kinds of issues until i eliminated the fast idle linkage so im sure thats not ur problem. it took me some tweakin until it got right. also had to get rid of the stock air cleaner.

Old 05-16-2011, 09:24 PM
JoeHarbourJets
Senior User