300 I6 build up.

Search this Thread

Old 03-03-2011, 10:26 PM
danger-ranger93
Posting Guru
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
300 I6 build up.

Well, it'll be slow, but here goes nothing.
I'm building this motor for pulling, and just the cool factor of the 300.

What are some performance things that will accomplish what I'm after here?
I'm a complete newbie to the I6's... Its going in a 78 F250 and the heaviest load I can think of pulling with it is a 15,000 lb hay trailer.
May have to ****** start a mid sized tractor but who knows...

Any help would be great.

Old 03-03-2011, 11:19 PM
Pkupman82
Postmaster
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
I'd say it's a great choice of engine to build up for the work you're doing. If you're pulling wagons around the farm, hauling and such it's perfect. 15k is a lot of weight, the 300 will move it just not in a big hurry... I wouldn't suggest going on the highway with it. Most 3/4 ton pickups of those years weren't rated for that much weight. However running back country roads you should be fine if you take it easy. Truthfully a bone stock 300 six is about as tough and reliable as they come. Speaking from personal experience, they will take a tremendous amount of abuse. The one thing I have learned about these engines is gearing is a critical part of making them perform. IMO they work best with a manual transmission behind them, more specifically an NP435, BW T18, or T19. The 300 six coupled with an old cast iron granny 4 speed and 4.10 gears (especially in a 3/4 ton or heavier 4wd) is an unbeatable combination for farm work.