1999 to 2016 Super Duty 1999 to 2016 Ford F250, F350, F450 and F550 Super Duty with diesel V8 and gas V8 and V10 engines
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

03 F250 4WD Problem

Search this Thread

Old 02-28-2011, 09:41 PM
blshaf
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
03 F250 4WD Problem

I'm having an issue with my 4X4. I recently purchased a new to me 03 F250 6.0L. Went out today to test out the 4X4 in some sand, only to find out that for some reason, my front hubs don't seem to engage. I'm new to the auto/manual hub thing...traded my Tacoma for the F250. First I just switched the ESOF to 4HI...Nothing. Then got out and locked the hubs. This seemed to create the usual added workload for the truck in 4X4, but the front tires didn't move. I then switched to 4LOW. Same thing...Nothing. When switching from the dash ESOF, the lights lit up correctly and everything. Not sure what to look for here. Vaccum lines, electrical, worn hubs, transfer case? Don't know where to go from here, and am really bummed out because 4WD is everything to me. I like mud and mud likes me Thanks in advance for any help!

Old 03-01-2011, 01:34 AM
helomech
Mountain Pass
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
I'm new to my truck, but I've heard on older versions, when you locked the hubs, it was typically before you got stuck.. then the hubs would have to turn (drive a few feet) before they would actually lock in.

At this point, my spreading of old rumored info is "take it for what it's worth"... lol. Might be something to try though.

Old 03-01-2011, 08:03 AM
onuredneck707
Senior User
I had the same problem with my 05 F250. I worked on that thing for days tracing vacuum lines etc. Turned out to be a bad solenoid that engages the vacuum pump. I think it is a $60 part or so. I would try replacing that before you take it to a shop. The symptoms you described are the exact same I as was experiencing.

Old 03-01-2011, 03:00 PM
blshaf
New User