Aerostar Ford Aerostar

Gear Shifter broke...

Search this Thread

Old 02-05-2011, 10:42 AM
gcpommom
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Gear Shifter broke...

I went to put the van in park, and the gear shifter just went all floppy in my hand. I was able to wiggle/jostle it around and get it into neutral or drive, but nothing else. Tow truck driver crawled under the van, and put it into drive for me, and told me it was probably just going to need a new cable or link shaft (tube shaped thing)...sorry, I'm not too technical here, my hubby usually fixes these things, but is now living 1700 miles away.

Anyway, the shop called me and said I needed a new steering column, and said something about the 'lower' cap or half??? He quoted me $340 for the job. I am not getting the connection between the gear shifter being loose/floppy and the steering column needing to be replaced? Is this right?

It is a 1993 Aerostar, 3.0 by the way

Old 02-05-2011, 11:59 AM
gcpommom
New User
Mechanic said the hollow aluminum rod housing is broke, and the steel rod within that housing has gouged/wore down the steering column...the bearing cap at the bottom of steering column--bushings gone?? Sorry, this is all greek to me...he is getting the replacement steering column at the junkyard, I am just so worried about this, and wish my husband were here to double check everything they're saying...
I have read other's posts saying they only had to replace the outer housing or 2 bolts or the cable...I am confused as to why I would need an entire steering column...

Old 02-05-2011, 01:30 PM
Don S.
More Turbo
Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Old 02-05-2011, 02:29 PM
gcpommom
New User