1999 to 2016 Super Duty 1999 to 2016 Ford F250, F350, F450 and F550 Super Duty with diesel V8 and gas V8 and V10 engines
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

2003 F250 6.0 liter Diesel NO POWER

Search this Thread

Old 11-05-2010, 05:08 PM
I am New to Ford
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2003 F250 6.0 liter Diesel NO POWER

Hello to everyone here at FORD TRUCK ENTHUSIASTS!

I appoligize for the long post, I am simply stating all of what I have found thus far. Someone please help me
As my user name states I am New to Ford, both here in this forum and to owning a (New to me) Ford Truck.
I have a 2003 F250 Extended cab (suicide rear doors) 4x4. Well I do not own it yet I am trying it out right now from a friend of mine! I have always been a Chevy man but I just love these Super Duty trucks and I am really thinking of switching brands. However; This truck seems to have absolutely NO(ZERO) power, It seems to start fine with only a little smoke at startup, idles nice and it has 335336 km (about 208000 miles). When I drive it and pull away easy it shifts beautifully through the gears, when I step into it it seems as though there is no boost from the turbo. When I went onto Youtube all the same trucks you can definitely hear the turbo whistle this one does not! I checked the air filter and actually removed it and took it for a small drive and there was no difference in the performance. I pulled off the plumbing to gain access to the turbo and it spins freely. I started the truck and the turbine turns from the exhaust. I put it back together and also I gently cleaned the Mass-Air flow resisters with a Q-tip(dry) There is still no difference in performance.
I should mention that there is a slight smell of exhaust in the cab perhaps there is a leak in the exhaust before the turbo. I did notice that there is a new fuel filter I think -( it is along the frame under the driver door) perhaps it is a lift pump????( it is all new).